A bike and multi-sport tour of Lorain County, the Back Roads & Beaches Bike route, takes cyclists through Oberlin, Vermilion, Lorain and Avon Lake and past farms, the Lake Erie shore and scenic hills and dales. Lorain County Heritage and the Lorain County Visitors Bureau welcome you to the Back Roads and Beaches bike and multi-sport tour.
A water trail along the Vermilion River, Black River and Lake Erie makes kayaking and canoeing accessible and user-friendly. The trail provides a unique paddling experience in that it offers both river and open water travel along the lakeshore.
Vermilion River Reservation is home to the the picturesque Bacon House Museum at Mill Hollow. Walk through the original settler Benjamin Bacon's house, built in 1845. The museum features themes of daily living and puts an emphasis on the community life, including the profound effect the railroad had on the economy and on people's lives. The Vermilion News Print Shop Museum, former home of Vermilion’s weekly newspaper 1905-1964, houses two linotypes.
Nothing is more iconic to the local landscape than the Vermilion Lighthouse, which looks out over Lake Erie at the foot of Main Street. There's a rich, deep history to this marvelous structure. A dedicated, ongoing effort seeks to preserve it for generations to come. Main Street Vermilion's Lighthouse Preservation Committee is dedicated.
In 1817, Benjamin Bacon settled with his family along the top of the cliffs overlooking an oxbow in the Vermilion River that would eventually be called Mill Hollow. Soon afterwards, and at an early age, Benjamin was elected to the prestigious position of Justice of the Peace, and in 1824 was selected as one of the first commissioners for Lorain County. In 1835 he purchased an interest in a saw and grist mill that had been relocated to the oxbow in the river.
Most boaters in Vermilion know they’re required to have a U.S. Coast Guard-approved wearable life jacket on board for every person on their boat. But boating safety advocates recommend that all boaters and passengers not only have a life jacket, but wear it at all times while boating. Accidents on the water can happen.
Vermilion, Ohio is the crowning jewel of the south shore of Lake Erie. From quaint shops to fine dining, the arts, entertainment and unmatched festivities, Vermilion truly has it all. Be reminded of a simpler time when an afternoon at the beach, a hand-dipped ice cream cone and a stroll along Main Street made your day special.
In 1919 a group of investors from the Cleveland area purchased a wooded property with 600 feet of Lake Erie frontage in tiny “Vermilion-on-the-Lake”, Ohio. They cleared the land, and using the very logs they felled, built an approximately 10,000 square foot private community center known as the Vermilion-on-the-Lake Clubhouse.
Downtown Vermilion, Ohio, "Harbour Town", is home to dozens of retail shops, restaurants, professional businesses, marinas, accommodations and tourist activities. Main Street Beach is a public swimming beach in downtown Vermilion, Ohio on the north end of Main Street. The Vermilion Lighthouse is located next to Main Street Beach in downtown Vermilion, Ohio. Enjoy the sandy beach in downtown Vermilion, recreational boating of every kind, jet skis, canoeing, sailing and more.
Vermilion was once known as the "Village of Lake Captains," and no other place has so many captains' homes in its historic district. Vermilion was initially settled in the early 19th century and formed as a village in 1837. In 1840, the US Corps of Engineers finished building the tow piers at the mouth of the Vermilion which provided the depth builders needed to take boats into the lake. Thus began the "Golden Age of Ship Building" on the river, in tune with great demand for the shipping on the lakes.
Free concerts, outdoor movies, museums, galleries and more are offered throughout the year in Vermilion, Ohio and surrounding areas. Discover all the arts and entertainment that Vermilion has to offer. Discover Vermilion Ohio's Arts & Entertainment.
Trains began running through Vermilion, Ohio starting in 1853. For over 140 years the rumbling, roaring, shaking, screaming tornados have rushed through the quiet village. Ships have come and gone in this little city by the sea, but they were never the acoustic monsters like the trains which roll along like wild demons in a race. Freight of all kinds flies through the city, and as far as we can foresee, it will continue for 140 more years. Such is life in a railroad town.